Skip to content

Plushes

November 6, 2013

Once again, I am having some major insomnia..,well, when I don’t sleep I become one of two things: 1) weepy or 2) crafty. This recent bout of insomnia has inspired both in me. So, to push back the weepies I have been making plush dolls. I originally was hand sewing them, because I was terrified of my sewing machine. However, it was taking too long to sew them so I “got over it”.

I made a friend of mine a Bruce McClane from Die Hard that says “Yippy Ky Yay, Motherf**er” when you squeezed his foot. I made two versions. I was terribly unhappy with the first. Here is a vine my husband took featuring the first one, along with the slogan catch phrase: https://vine.co/v/hjOHUBmQg1B And here are some pictures of the one I liked enough to give to my friend (but I’m still not terribly happy with):

Anyway , I drew the character myself and made the doll template myself. The fact that I made the doll template myself (and the fact that I hadn’t sewn in years) is probably why it looked a little wonky.

After I made the doll for my friend, I started thinking of other dolls I could make. Eventually I decided on making dolls based on famous mathematicians and scientists. So, I started drawing out mathematicians, and this is what I have come up with so far:

I’ve gotten a lot better at sewing and have gotten a little less scared of my sewing machine, so these are starting to come along pretty well.

Anyway, I plan on making a whole slew of them. So, keep your eyes peeled.

 

On a side note: I’m 3.5 classes away from graduating from the Art Institute!! Yay!

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

