Skip to content

Freeform Crochet Blanket

August 3, 2015

This year has sucked for me. Like, hard… As a way to deal with how much everything has sucked, I have been crocheting like crazy. The culmination of my emotional roller-coaster, is the following freeform crochet blanket. While I like the blanket, I do not have room for it within my home and decided to put it up for sell on etsy and reopened my shop a few days ago in anticipation of completing the project.

Since it is a deeply personal piece, I decided to write an “artist statement” along with it, because I felt it kind of needed a bit of explanation.

This striking, original crochet blanket is named “Liquid” for both its resemblance to water and its constantly changing shape during construction. It is hand crocheted in a freeform style and took approximately 6 months to complete. It contains dozens of types of yarn with varying texture, material, and thickness assembled in many different stitches and forms.

(Not to be sappy but…)This piece is very personal to me and was made as a way to cope and deal with the emotional roller coaster that has been my year, thus far. The emotion can almost be seen in each stitch, with the most stressful part of my year being represented by the much tighter lower two-thirds of the blanket.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2015 3:05 am

    Wow – unique & eye-catching!

    • agodboldmath permalink*
      August 7, 2015 11:49 am

      Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

